Canada's bid to make it to the 2024 Copa America as a host team will… -

Canada’s bid to make it to the 2024 Copa America as a host team will… –

Canada only needs to send one opponent to qualify for the 2024 Copa America as one of CONCACAF’s six host teams.

According to guidelines released by CONCACAF on Tuesday, the US, Mexico and Costa Rica and Canada – as the top four teams in the region according to the March 31 CONCACAF ranking – will bid farewell to the League A quarter-finals of the CONCACAF Nations League 2023-24.

The four quarter-final winners will join Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela in the Copa America field.

The two remaining CONCACAF berths in the 16-team Copa America will be filled via a playoff between the four League A losing quarter-finalists in March 2024 at a centralized venue.

The 2023-24 and 2024-25 Nations League competitions serve as qualifiers for the 2024 Copa America and 2025 Gold Cup respectively.

The Canadian men, ranked No. 47 in the world by FIFA, still have work to do in their current Nations League campaign, with a semi-final against No. 58 Panama on June 15 in Las Vegas. The winner will face 13th-ranked USA or No. 15 Mexico in the June 18 final at Allegiant Stadium for the tournament title and a prize of approximately $1 million US.

Canada advanced to the last four after leading League A’s Group C over Honduras and Curaçao.

LOOK | Cyle Larin leads Canada to CONCACAF Nations League final:

Canada through to CONCACAF Nations League semi-finals after victory over Honduras

2 months ago

Duration 1:56

Cyle Larin scores two early goals as Canada beat Honduras 4-1 in the CONCACAF Nations League group stage match. The Canadian squad will play in Las Vegas in June in the final four of the tournament.

The CONCACAF Nations League continues to be played in three leagues (A, B and C) with 41 teams allocated to one of the three leagues based on their performance in the previous league.

The May 16 draw in Miami for the 2023-24 Nations League will divide the teams assigned to divisions A, B and C into groups.

League A teams play 4 matches

League A has expanded to 16 teams, instead of 12, with the new quarter-final added.

The 12 lower-ranked teams in League A are split into two groups of six teams, with each team playing four games, two at home and two away. After group play, the top two teams in each pool will join the top four ranked League A nations in the quarter-finals.

The League A quarter-final is a home and away game, with the four aggregate score winners advancing to the CONCACAF Nations League Final and the 2024 Copa America.

The 2023-24 Nations League group stage will be played during FIFA match windows in September, October and November 2023. The League A quarter-finals will be played in November 2023 and the finals are scheduled for March 2024 as an announcement to be made. location

With Canada skipping group play, coach John Herdman can schedule friendlies in the September and October windows.

The format for League B remains unchanged with 16 teams divided into four groups, with each side playing the others in the home and away groups.

League C will consist of nine teams divided into three pools and each province will play home and away in their pool.

The fifth and sixth place players in each of the League A groups are relegated to League B, with the four League B group winners earning promotion.

The fourth-placed teams in the League B groups go down, with the three League C group winners and the best runners-up being promoted to League B.

CONCACAF Nations League competitions

Liga A (16 teams): Canada, Costa Rica, x-Cuba, Curacao, El Salvador, Grenada, x-Guatemala, x-Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Mexico, x-Nicaragua, Panama, Suriname and the United States.

Liga B (16 teams): Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Dominican Republic, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Montserrat, x-Puerto Rico, x-Saint Kitts and Nevis, x-Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, x-Saint Maarten and Trinidad and Tobago.

League C (9 teams): Anguilla, Aruba, Bonaire, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Saint Martin, Turks and Caicos Islands and US Virgin Islands.

(x- denotes promoted teams)

Adblock test (Why?)

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings