CONMEBOL identifies women's groups in Copa America

CONMEBOL identifies women’s groups in Copa America

The South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) held the group draw for this year’s Copa América Femenina on Thursday afternoon. The tournament qualifies South American representatives for the Sports World Cup and also for the 2023 Pan American Games. For the first time in the history of the competition, champions will receive cash prizes. The news was announced during the group draw. The champion and runner-up will receive approximately R$7 million and other prizes of R$2.4 million. In the ninth edition, 10 South American teams will participate, divided into two groups. Brazil, the biggest champion of the tournament, with 7 titles, is in Group B, along with Argentina, Uruguay, Peru and Venezuela. Group A includes Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, Paraguay and Bolivia. The competition will take place between July 8 and 30 in three cities in Colombia: Bucaramanga, Armenia and Cali, where the final round of the competition will also take place.

As for the FIFA friendlies, Brazil’s national football team withstood pressure from the Spanish team and tied the score 1-1 in the match played this Thursday afternoon in Alicante. The Brazilian goal was scored by Jesse. And the Brazilians returned to the field on Monday in another friendly, this time against Hungary, which is still on Spanish soil. Also on Thursday, Brazil’s women’s national under-20 football team appeared, winning, in the South American championship for the category, beating Uruguayan representatives 2-0. In the coming rounds, the Brazilian girls will compete against the teams of Bolivia, Ecuador and Paraguay. The competition will be held in La Calera, Chile.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings